Experiencing the Greater Tide

New beginnings are a difficult thing to write about. I’ve been blogging for about 8 years now on various different platforms and through various different ministries, and this blog starts a new beginning for me as well as a closure to the Treasuring Christ blog.  How do I explain what the Lord has been doing in my heart over the past 8 months in the form of a blog post, and keep someones attention long enough to read it?

The truth is I can’t do it in a single post, but I believe that’s what this new blog is for.  The best I can do for now is share the facts with you.  After 6 months of prayer I believe the Lord has closed the doors on the Treasuring Christ blog ministry.  I had a short time with a great blog team, but the demands of my job have kept me from being able to commit to running, administrating, and designing content for this website ministry.  I cannot afford to keep up with the hosting bill for a website that I can no longer maintain.  My job has changed its role over the last two years and I am finding myself on the road quite often, and with the future growth of our company that travel will increase over the next few years.

But the Lord has given me a desire to write and there are still stories to be told.  So as time and as the Lord allows I will be sharing my personal journey on this free WordPress blog called The Greater Tide (more details about that name later).

2015 has been an eventful year for me to say the least. My time has been spent investing into the lives of others, developing and building upon personal relationships with those both within and outside of the church. If the past eight months have taught me anything it is that my time is not my own – it’s His.

In January I surrendered my schedule over to the Lord and began this journey of understanding what it looks like to live a gospel-centered life. It’s taken me several years to understand this, but I’ve come to believe something that has been transforming me daily.:

Our lives should not only be centered around the Gospel but flowing from it.  It should be the source and what we do should flow from the grace of God working in our lives. 

If I could sum up the work that the Lord has been doing in my heart in a quote, then the words of Jonathan Edwards will give you some insight.

“The enjoyment of God is the only happiness with which our souls can be satisfied. To go to heaven, fully to enjoy God, is infinitely better than the most pleasant accommodations here. Fathers and mothers, husbands, wives, or children, or the company of earthly friends, are but shadows; but God is the substance. These are but scattered beams, but God is the sun. These are but streams. But God is the ocean.”- Jonathan Edwards

Experiencing the greater Tide,

Whitt

Leave a Reply

