Music Review: Sleeping Giant – Finished Peoples

Sleeping Giant has been one of my favorite hardcore metal bands ever since I saw them at the 2009 Ichthus Festival in Wilmore, Kentucky. Led by frontman Tommy Green, Sleeping Giant is a band to be reckoned with, and their latest release – Finished People shatters all notions of what it looks like to be a part of the Christian music scene.

Tom-of-Sleeping-GiantThe album starts off with a blistering track titled ‘Clutches’. The production and sound of this track is reminiscent of their Sons of Thunder release and songs like ‘Gang Signs’ and ‘No One Leaves This Room Sick’. Sleeping Giant doesn’t waste any time getting to the heart of the Gospel pounding out lyrics like:

“God Don’t let sinners fall into the hands of an angry judge. If not for love I never would have made it. Father, don’t let your people fall into the clutches of an angry world. Without your love we’re never going to make it.”

The second track ‘Overthrow’ is the song I believe sets the stage for the rest of this cd.   Thundering drums and a militant chorus define the rest of this release and this song is simply the appetizer whetting your appetite for what is to come. Brooke Reeves from the band Impending Doom lends his growls to the closing moments of the song and it’s monumental chorus “Kingdom Come and Overthrow.”

The songs only get better as it progresses. ‘Finished People’ the title track should please fans both new and old. I read in another review that the title song brings to light the plight of the finished people trapped within the Russian/Ukranian prison system. The song and album draws parallels of this to us as finished people to the world, having died to self to follow Christ and the hope that we have in this.

The production on Finished People is top knotch. This is the tightest I have ever heard Sleeping Giant sound. It has been amazing for me to see the progression of this band from their early days with their first release – Dread Champions of the Last Days in songs like ‘Dynasty,’  and ‘This is the Word’, to the tightly knit blistering technicalities of songs ‘Son of God, Son of Man’ and ‘Christus Victor’ on Finished People. Musically the band has soared on their latest release, and I look forward to seeing what kind of element their new songs bring to their live show.

Fans of Levi the Poet will be excited to hear him tear your heart out over the struggle we face when someone we love falls away from the faith on the song ‘Violence.’

‘Blood Meridian’ and ‘Victory’ stand out right now as two of my favorite tracks.   There is something majestic in the chorus section of these two songs that stand out to me above all the rest.

Sleeping Giant set the bar so high with their last release Kingdom Days in an Evil Age, that to be honest I didn’t think anything could come close to capturing that kind of energy and intensity, but after listening to Finished People I think they have set the bar for all bands in this genre.

There is only one thing that I don’t like about this cd and that is the running time – a very short 36 minutes and 15 seconds. This is a typical running time for many hardcore bands, but I would have loved to have seen it run about 15 minutes longer.

Sleeping Giant commands the sleepwalking within the church to awaken and spread the love of Jesus Christ across the world. Sleeping Giant, acting in unison as more than the sum of their parts, commands their brethren to break loose from the shackles of short-sightedness, laziness and arrogance and embrace all of God’s children. Their message is forthright, outspoken, militant and immediate. Their presentation is passionate, reverent and worshipful. Sleeping Giant is no mere band. Sleeping Giant is the sound of reckoning.Sleeping Giant | Facebook

Purchase Finished People here:

Track Listing:

  1. Clutches     3:32
  2. Overthrow     2:45
  3. Finished People     3:05
  4. Death Knell     3:13
  5. Son of God, Son of man     3:44
  6. Christus Victor     2:47
  7. Violence     3:03
  8. Brother’s Keeper     2:39
  9. The Great Divorce     3:14
  10. Blood Meridian     3:07
  11. Victory     5:05

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s