Treasuring Christ not Theology

Do you ever have times whenever the Lord reveals something to you about your own heart that is exactly what you needed to hear regardless of how painful it might feel at the time? That’s what this blog post is about.

For several years I ran a website ministry called Treasuring Christ but for many reasons decided early last year that my time with this website ministry was done.  I was traveling a lot for work, but I was also entering into a transition period of my life that focused primarily upon building relationships through discipleship.  The Lord has recently revealed to me that those reasons are only a part of the story.

The truth is that I was treasuring my theology more than I was treasuring Christ. I was more concerned about “right doctrine” than I was caring for the needs of others. Theology is vital to the Christian life because it is about the study of God, but whenever it trumps  our love for Jesus and others you know that there is a problem.

I saw it unfold this week as I watched an acquaintance of mine on Facebook making it his personal mission to assault anyone and everyone who disagreed with his theological positions. He didn’t care who opposed him or who stood in his way as he angrily dismantled brothers and sisters in Christ who differed in their viewpoints. He tore them down theologically and then began to dehumanize them. It was an appalling and convicting thing to see.

The Lord was quick to reveal to me that this young man is not much different than I was a few years ago. I’m ashamed to say that but it’s true.  I left a trail of broken relationships because I loved my doctrinal positions more than I loved people.  This is why the Lord closed the doors on my website (and many of my relationships). I was treasuring my doctrine and not Jesus. I was loving the truth of Scripture, but I was not loving others.

It’s been an incredible journey over the past several years, and the Lord has been so good to change my heart and my understanding. It’s only by God’s magnificent grace that I can testify of a transformed heart as He has given me a Christ-centered love for others that I couldn’t grasp a few years ago. If you have been a victim of my theological tyranny in the past I am asking that you would please forgive me.

I understand that now more than ever, people are hurting and apart from Christ they are without any real and lasting hope. Spend any amount of time in a conversation with someone, or visit their Facebook page and you’ll discover just how broken they are. The truth is that we are all broken people looking for hope and meaning in this life. Paul Tripp refers to us as instruments in the hands of the Redeemer. We are people in need of the same kind of change that we are called to minister to others. This has been my heart ever since I first started meeting and counseling others back in the fall of 2014.

The end of the year is upon me and I’m finding that  Lord has burdened my heart to write again, and although I question whether blogs are still relevant in this day and age I am going to pursue where I believe He is leading. This blog will provides me with an outlet to share my heart in a way that social media does not, but also in a way that I should have been sharing the first time around.

This tagline for this blog site says “Leave this shipwrecked world and come with Me.” It’s a lyric from a song by the band Attalus which is also the original inspiration for the entire blog but it’s so much more than that.  It is the prayer of my heart. I am inviting you to join me in this journey to treasure Jesus by loving others the way that He has loved us.

” Sink or swim – don’t care. Just dive in – You’re there.”

 

Leave a Reply

